What do You Read Every Day? – I Start with The Atlantic and Business Insider


What do you read every day?

When I don’t have an early morning calendar obligation, I start my days with a reading ritual. In the old days, it was the daily newspaper. Now, it’s a combination of sources – a little news, a little business, a short spiritually focused daily e-mail… it’s kind of eclectic…

Over the last few years, the “sites” have changed. Right now, if you made me give up all but a couple, I think I would keep these two.

#1 – The Atlantic site.

This morning, it starts with Pakistan and India Share the Nobel Peace Prize: Malala Yousafzai, a Muslim, and Kailash Satyarthi, a Hindu, are the co-winners for 2014. We know the story of Malala, but I am sad to say I did not remember the name Kailash Satyarthi, who “has saved tens of thousands of lives.”

And a bit later, I read a terrific and insightful article by Derek Thompson, Senior Editor: Why New Ideas Fail – People think they like creativity. But teachers, scientists, and executives are biased against new ways of thinking.

It’s not the first time I have devoured one of Mr. Thompsons’s articles. If you care about innovation and creativity (they are related!), then read this article now!

The Atlantic features a roster of good writers.  Here are couple of my favorites.  I have always liked James Fallows.  And Ta-Nehisi Coates has become an indispensable writer for grappling with issues of race.

#2 – the Business Insider site.

Here’s the thing. All of the sites I read are now pretty eclectic themselves. Is Business Insider a business site? Yes. But it is also a news site… and so much more.

But here is one special reason I like Business Insider. It frequently will list the favorite books of a thought or business leader. Here’s a recent article: 9 Books That Elon Musk Thinks Everyone Should Read. They’ve done similar articles on books that Bill Gates recommends, and many others.

(And, yes, every one of those articles makes me realize again – “so many books, so little time…”).

What do you read every day? If you could only keep two of your sites, which two would they be?

Leave a comment