Katie Couric Moves to Yahoo – Content may Remain, But Delivery is in Such a State of Flux…


couricyahoo380I’m intrigued by Katie Couric’s move to Yahoo – Yahoo’s new “Global Anchor.”  I’m not yet smart enough to figure out exactly what it means, or if it will work.

But, I think I am slowly “getting” part of the current landscape.  Somebody has to still create content.  Content is still pretty much the same.  But delivery is constantly in flux.

A large, and growing, percent of video watching is now not on a television screen, but on a smart phone screen or tablet screen.  So, video content is the “same” or, at least, “similar” – but the delivery is different.

I started out as an Amazon book buyer.  (I guess I’m partly to blame that Border’s went under).  But now I buy a whole lot more through Amazon – everything from shaving cream to pillows to…  the products are the same.  But the delivery system is different.

I now watch television with multiple remotes on the table, and my iPad in my lap.  I am quick to pause the screen, change to Netflix, watch a brief video or check out some definition or connection on my iPad.  And I know I’m not very good at this kind of digital use.

Everything is becoming more interactive.

I don’t quite know what is coming.  But Katie Couric on Yahoo…  this seems to hint at more changes ahead, don’t you think?

Leave a comment