Books by Malcolm Gladwell (and Kouzes and Posner) for the November First Friday Book Synopsis


Malcolm Galdwell has a new book.  And just like as I kid when I would rush to buy the new Spiderman comic book on the day it hit the stores, I loaded David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants into my Kindle app on my iPad on the day it was published, and dove right in.

Yes, I’ve already read two not-so-positive reviews, and two very positive reviews, and the terrific interview with Malcolm Gladwell in the books section at the New York Times site (he calls Michael Lewis the best writer of the era, and tells a great! story about William Buckley).

But, I’ve halfway through the book, and it is exactly what I thought it would be – Gladwell, the Great Story Teller!, making me think.  I am loving the experience of reading it.

I will present my synopsis of Gladwell’s book at the November 1 First Friday Book Synopsis.  And, I suspect, there will be a few blog posts prompted by the book along the way.

And, Karl Krayer is presenting his synopsis of The Truth About Leadership:  The No-Fads Heart-Of-The-Matter Facts You Need To Know by James M. Kouzes and Barry Z. Posner.  The best book I have ever read on “building your people” is Encouraging the Heart by Kouzes and Posner, so I definitely look forward to Karl’s synopsis of this Kouzes and Posner book.

In addition to our regular program, we are honored to have award-winning journalist Hugh Aynseworth present a “Bonus Program” on his book Witness to History (about the Kennedy Assassination).

Malcolm Galdwell; Kouzes and Posner; Hugh Aynesworth – what a great morning of learning.  Come join us.

Here’s the flier with all the details.  (You’ll be able to register through our web site soon).

Click on flier image for full view
Click on flier image for full view

Leave a comment