The Day Is Coming When Browsing At A Bookstore Will Be Just A Distant Memory… Like Borders, Are Your Days Numbered Also?


News item: Borders to file for Chapter 11 bankruptcy.

I have shopped at bookstores since I was…  well, since well before I was old enough to drive.  I had my favorite bookstore in Beaumont, TX, in the Los Angeles area, and in Dallas.  (My favorite, of all time, was Acres of Books in Long Beach, a used bookstore that was, truly, acres of books.  Not attractive, dusty, “old,” wonderful!  It is now closed, as I read on Wikipedia).

When we moved to Dallas in 1987, I shopped at Taylor’s Bookstore.  A locally owned “small chain,” it’s location in the outer parking lot of NorthPark Center was ideal.  I could always park right in front, and get lost for a few hours.

The big national chain stores put Taylors out of business, and I switched to Borders.  For some reason, I always liked Borders better than Barnes & Noble – no, I don’t know why.  Just the feel of the store.

But I helped put Borders out of business.  Because, for the last few years, I have spent far more at Amazon.com that I do at the physical stores.  So, it’s partly my fault – but it is still sad.

The article in the Dallas Morning News describing the decline of Borders spends plenty of space talking about the failures of the company, like this:

The bookseller’s finances crumbled amid declining interest in bricks-and-mortar booksellers, a broad cultural trend for which it had no answers. The company suffered a series of management gaffes, piled up unsustainable debts and failed to cultivate a meaningful presence on the Internet or in increasingly popular digital e-readers.

The article seems to imply that Borders’ problems are significantly Borders’ fault.  But, let’s say that Barnes & Noble is better managed, better run, with its Nook, and on-line business, developed in a pretty timely manner.  Here’s the thing:  I’m loyal to Amazon on-line, and have never once even checked Barnes & Noble’s site.

And, it really doesn’t matter.  Here’s the future, from later in the article:

Online shopping and the advent of e-readers, with their promise of any book, any time, anywhere, and cheaper pricing, have shoppers abandoning Borders and Barnes & Nobles bookstores as they did music stores a decade ago.

“I think that there will be a 50 percent reduction in bricks-and-mortar shelf space for books within five years and 90 percent within 10 years,” says Mike Shatzkin, chief executive of Idea Logical Co., a New York consulting firm. “Bookstores are going away.”

“Bookstores are going away.” It’s a sad day.

And for this blog, which focuses on business issues and ideas and business books, here’s the question – are you in a business that can shift and change and adapt with the times, or are your days numbered also?

Leave a comment