The Greatest are Never Bored by What They Do – Itzhak Perlman Keeps Having Fun at age 70


Keep at it.
Keep tweaking it – keep innovating. – Never settle for what you did; aim for what you can do.
Keep enjoying it. – Never be bored.

Itshak PerlmanI just listened to this wonderful interview:‘My Goal Is To Not Be Bored By What I Do’: Itzhak Perlman At 70.

He’s been the ultimate violinist for over 60 years. Read that again – over 60 years.

When he was a “boy” violinist, Ed Sullivan introduced this young violinist from Israel to American audiences – more than once.

One fun moment – NPR played an excerpt of Mr. Perlman playing music on his blender. Yes, you read that correctly – on his blender.

Here’s a key part of the interview:

“A lot of people ask me, ‘What is your goal now that you have done everything?’ And I always say that my goal is to not be bored by what I do,” Perlman says. “The only way that I cannot be bored by what I do is if I play something and it’s all new to me.”

One highlight of the interview was one line near the end.

If you asked Jack Nicklaus what is the best shot you ever hit, he replied: “I haven’t hit it yet.”
Mr. Perlman said that he would never say anything that he played was the best.

So your reminder for the day –

Keep at it…
Keep innovating.
Keep enjoying what you do.

Leave a Reply

