Some misc. observations – Empathy; An Organized Mind; “Results”


Call this a catch-all blog post.

I present a synopsis of one new business book each month, and have done so for the last 17+ years. You begin to see patterns, repeated ideas and insights, and when you see them often enough, you begin to pay attention.

Here are a few:

#1 – Empathy is truly critical.

I have lost count of the number of books that have reported that medical doctors who make mistakes, but demonstrate empathy, are less likely to be sued than doctors who make fewer mistakes, but demonstrate little-to-no empathy.

In other words, it is a good “business” decision (not to mention a good “human” decision) to treat other human beings well, demonstrating genuine empathy.

#2 – We are all feeling overwhelmed, because we are actually overwhelmed, and need some help organizing our minds.

The-Organized-Mind-CoverEach month, I post my blog post with my takeaways from the book I presented that month My post Here are My 6 Lessons and Takeaways from The Organized Mind by Daniel Levitin is viewed by many, almost every day.

The post begins with this quote, from the book:

Trying to figure out what you need to know and what you can ignore is exhausting, and at the same time, we are all doing more. 

Here’s what I think; we are all reading more, hearing more, viewing more, juggling more. Organizing our mind around all we have to take in, and do, is a business/career survival skill, and not all that easy to pull off. It is a recurring theme, in a number of books. This book by Mr. Levitin can help.

#3 – Results really matter.

Last night, the New York Yankees season ended in a one-game no-show. Good season; bad ending; bad result at the end…

I read books – many books – dealing with leadership. Here’s my current thinking: there are not-so-nice people who are successful leaders, and other such folks who are unsuccessful leaders. And, there are plenty-nice people who are successful leaders, and other such people who are unsuccessful.

In other words, being nice, or not, guarantees nothing. The only real measure of leadership is: did the leader produce the needed results?

Results matter. And, though I prefer the nicer leader, I most prefer the desired results. At the end of the day, the product has to be delivered, the plane has to land on time, and the potholes have to be fixed. If leaders can’t make those things happen, the leadership is a failed leadership.

(And, yes, I realize I just contradicted myself. Empathy matters; results matter more.  It’s tough to think through this, isn’t it?).

So, here are my three from this morning:

  • Develop and demonstrate empathy
  • Develop a more organized mind
  • Produce results.

 

One thought on “Some misc. observations – Empathy; An Organized Mind; “Results”

Leave a Reply

