It’s Selection Time for the Next First Friday Book Synopsis (June 5) – Seldom an Easy Choice


Choosing our book selections for the First Friday Book Synopsis is not easy.

Becoming Steve JobsI’m presenting my synopsis of a second biography of Steve Jobs at this Friday’s First Friday Book Synopsis. The second one! I don’t think that I have presented any other biographies at all in the 17+ year history of our event, but I do think Steve Jobs is worthy of both of these biographies.

But… sometimes — ok, frequently —  it is hard to choose the right book. Right now, I’m in “which book do I choose for our next event” mode. It is not easy.

My list of possibilities is long, and every one seems to deal with important issues:

The new Brian Grazer book on the power of curiosity, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life, is appealing, and, I suspect, incredibly valuable to our participants.

But, so is the new Inside Google look about good management, Work Rules! (I just blogged about this).

And then there is the new Heidi Grant Halvorson book No One Understands You and What To Do About It. The title alone is enough to make me want to read it and present it. And the fact that it made it into a major article on The Atlantic site makes it even more appealing: Mixed Signals: Why People Misunderstand Each Other – The psychological quirks that make it tricky to get an accurate read on someone’s emotions. This article ends with this paragraph:

Feeling understood is a basic human need. When people satisfy that need, they feel more at peace with themselves and with the people around them, who see them closer to how they see themselves.

And, there is the new David Brooks book, The Road to Character. Maybe not quite a business book, but certainly filled with implications for people in business.

Which of these books will I choose? Or, will it be one not even on this list?

It is not an easy choice. In fact, it is seldom an easy choice. So many good books, with insight we all need to learn and master. I’ve got to decide by tomorrow. I’ll let you know which I choose.

Leave a Reply

