Just an Observation – Is there a Growing Fear of Not Being Innovative Enough?


I have read and presented synopses of many, many books dealing with creativity and innovation. I read a lot of articles and posts on innovation.

I think I’m sensing a very subtle shift. I could be wrong about this, but I think I’m sensing this…

It now seems that everyone agrees — we have to be innovative; constantly innovating, perpetually innovating, building innovation into the very corporate culture, part of ”everybody’s job.”

But, here’s the shift – it has gone, or at least seems to be going to this – from “we’ve got to be innovative” to “we’re scared that we can’t be innovative enough.

The fear of not innovating may be rising fast…

I don’t really have anywhere to go with this – it’s just an observation.

In a culture with so much restlessness and uncertainty (the VUCA world), maybe this new subtle fear should not be unexpected.

I do think this – if we are not innovative, we will be left behind by someone – some company, or maybe even some guys in a garage – who will innovate us right out of business.

Let me put it this way – would you like to be in the traditional taxi business in the sharing, Uber economy?

One thought on “Just an Observation – Is there a Growing Fear of Not Being Innovative Enough?

Leave a Reply

