“Do You Have Any “Must Read” Books You Think I Would Like?” – Here was My Quick Response

Here was the request. I get this question fairly often. This time it came though e-mail, so I responded with an e-mail. Here, I am sharing my response.

The request:

I will have the chance to read quite a bit this month and I am working on my list…do you have any “must read” books you think I would like?

The inquirer is a young woman, who owns her own business. Sharp; talented. This is just what flowed from my keyboard.

If you have not yet read Lean In, I would definitely read that.  
If you have not read The Grapes of Wrath (yes — that, the classic Grapes of Wrath) as an adult, put that on your list.  (I think it is the best book I have ever read…)
If you have an interest in learning about the fundamentalist Muslim world view, a very readable book is:  Inside the Kingdom:  My Life in Saudi Arabia by Carmen Bin Laden (yes, former wife of one of Osama Bin Laden’s brothers).
Consider Larry James’ book:  The Wealth of the Poor.
If you want to think about building your business, read Contagious:  Why Things Catch On by Jonah Berger.  (Probably not as practical as Platform – not a “now do this next” book — but great concepts).
So, I’ve got a women-in-business book, a marketing book, a world issues book, a social justice/poverty book, and the great American novel.
Is this enough to get you started.  Do you want more?

(Here’s an earlier set of answers to pretty much the same question.  This inquirer was a middle-age businessman: “What Three Books Should I Load On My Kindle For My Cruise?”).

Inside the KingdomOnly one book made both lists. Inside the Kingdom by Carmen Bin Laden. There are more “substantive” books on understanding the Muslim world, but this book is such an engaging and personal story. I’ve never forgotten reading it.  (I’m actually kind of a little surprised that it came to mind both times.  Maybe it is because there are so many stories in the news, all the time, that I think it helps to know about the fundamentalist Muslim world).

By the way, I think I might answer this question differently almost anytime I am asked the question.  It depends on what pops into my head at the moment.

So, what books would you recommend to someone to take on their getaway?


Leave a Reply

